It’s been awhile since I have made a post so I thought to myself, I need to get in here and write something!  Not a whole lot has happened in my life, at least outwardly, so there is not much to report there.  Globally, yes, a lot has happened.  The great country of Japan is on everyone’s radar these days.  Earthquake, tsunami, and now potential nuclear meltdown at one or more of the 6 plants there… yes, we are all concerned, and greatly saddened by what has happened.  This morning, after letting our 3 dogs out to potty and giving them a bone to lick and chew on, I began preparing my breakfast.  I turned on the tv to a local channel just in time for the Today Show. As I stood at stove, stirring my bubbling oatmeal, tears began streaming down my face.  My jaw slowly dropped as I watched in awe and deep sadness as the tsunami waves rolled in, taking with them houses, cars, trees, everything visible.  It was surreal, almost like watching a small child dump water on top of match-stick houses, Matchbox cars, and stick people.   But this was not a game of make believe.  This was real; heart-wrenchingly real.

Some reading this may ask themselves, ‘Why would you cry?  Do you know someone in Japan who has died or who is missing?’  No, I do not know, personally, anyone in Japan.  But I cry because of my deep connection with All  Life.  I firmly believe in the Oneness that connects each and every sentient being, and as these Japanese people weep out of fear, the loss of loved ones, their homes and all of their belongings, I weep, too.  And I continued to weep silently and uncontrollably for awhile that morning, stirring my oatmeal as my tear dropped in to the bubbling soup.  I also wept silently as I drove down Hwy 50 toward Sacramento, the rain periodically pelting my windshield, cars whizzing past, the morning commute unfolding like any other day.

However, in that moment, I said to myself, “Be complacent no more.”  No more can we sit  by, struggling each day in jobs we hate, relationships that are not working, getting irritated by people in our lives.  Life is too short.  We can work a lifetime for material things that can be swept away by a wave in one second.  Yes, that can happen, and it already has.  I am happy with my life.  I have my, what I can “mad moments” which I will write about in a separate post, but all around, I am generally content with things in my life.  But this event in Japan has shaken my core; reminded me of the fragility of life.  The real significance of each of us and the insignificance, the smallness, of the daily grind and drama.  It reminded me of what is important.  So this is my message to you, and a message to myself:

Today, pause for a moment, and recognize how interconnected we all are; how important you are and how each of us is so important and valued.  Know, deep in your soul, how loved you truly are, that you bring to this planet each day upon rising the Gift of Life: You.

Today, turn to one person and thank them for no other reason other than their presence.  Turn to someone today and share with them a smile.  That smile could be the one thing that brightens their day.  In that smile, you share the Love of the Great Spirit, and that is a Perfect, wonderful thing.

Take a moment and create a list of all of the things you are grateful for.  Give thanks for the food you eat, the clean water you drink, the rain, the sun, your car, the expensive gas that you can afford to put into your car, your job, your co-workers, your partner, your child or children, the clerk checking out your groceries… anyone, anything.  Put it down.  Read it through.  Again.

I am sure you’ve all read these kinds of things before and may have even done them: gratitude lists.  But, hey, a little reminder once in awhile is okay.

What happened in Japan is tragic, but there is ALWAYS some good that can emerge.  Look at all the Japanese people pulling together to help each other, whether that involves pulling someone out of a car,  from underneath rubble, or handing out food and other supplies.  Look at the actions of the U.S. military.  The donations we can all make.  Tragic events bring the humanity out in people, but on a day to day basis, we do not need a tragedy to smile or thank each other for just being who we are.  The lesson here is to Love one another and to see how small of a planet this is.  How interconnected we are.

In writing this entry, I am reminded by a song by Melissa Etheridge, “We are the Ones.” It all starts with us; we need wait no longer.

“We are the ones, we are the ones, we are the ones/The ones that we are waiting for./ Hey every stranger you meet is a part of you/Teaching we are the ones.  Every stranger you see is a part of you/Teaching we are the ones. We are the ones, we are the ones, we are the ones/The ones that we are waiting for.”

Namaste,

Sue

 

